Skip to main content

The Certificate for Web Accessibility

Why WACA? 

An accessible web is a sign and an expression of an open, democratic and inclusive society. WACA is the first independent certificate to make accessibility according to the international W3C guidelines (WCAG 2.1 – level AA) visible to the outside world. This quality seal guarantees accessibility for all people on the certified websites. It recognises the web accessibility efforts of companies and organisations and ensures compliance with legal requirements. Independent and certified experts are appointed by the WACA Advisory Board to carry out audits. An interdisciplinary advisory board with a wide variety of core competences monitors the certification process and is responsible for the further development of the certificate as well as for the appointment of auditors.

How to obtain a WACA certificate? 

We have divided the entire certification process into different phases:

    

Information phase

If you are unsure whether your website meets the basic accessibility criteria according to the WCAG, we can point to a network of consultants who are constantly working on the topic and can provide qualified professionals in the field of web accessibility. In general, we recommend a professional consultation prior to starting the certification process or at least a quick preliminary check in order to avoid mistakes when submitting your website via the online portal for evaluation. This way we also want to avoid that certification is denied due to a lack of accessibility on your website and that your website has to be submitted a second time.

We can recommend the members of our Advisory Board for consultation prior to submitting your website for evaluation:

  • WIENFLUSS information.design.solutions
  • doloops GmbH
  • gugler* brand & digital 
  • Wolfgang Leitner’s agency Leitwolf 
  • Competence Network Information Technology to Support the Integration of People with Disabilities (KI-I)
  • myAbility Social Enterprise GmbH
  • Austrian Association in Support of the Blind and Visually Impaired

Here you will find a pool of specialised digital agencies and experts among the members of the society Accessible Media.
In addition, we recommend the Certified WebAccessibility Experts of the Austrian Economic Chambers (WKO) of the UBIT division, which is responsible for business consulting, accounting and information technology.
 

Application phase

Before submitting your website for evaluation, you can take advantage of an initial consultation by phone. This consultation is included in the certification price. During this consultation, we will analyse the website to be audited together with you or your digital agency, explain how to use the online submission portal and discuss the formalised audit protocol and audit methodology. Furthermore, the scope of the evaluation (test sample) will be defined and the price for the certification will be fixed. The scope of the audit, and thus the certification price, depends on the size, scope and complexity of your website. The sample selection is based on the specifications of the W3C and constitutes a representative sample of your website. The certification price also includes a post-audit, in case it is necessary.

Price scale for WCAG 2.1 – AA from 1 May 2020 (relating to the test and random sample) including initial consultation and annual review audits:

  • Small (up to 5 audited sites): € 1,400
  • Medium (6 to 10 audited sites): € 3,000
  • Large (11 to 20 audited sites): € 6,000
  • X-Large (from 21 audited sites): individual quotation

Note: An additional charge for complex websites is possible 
In case of non-standard CMS or websites that are largely built up with JavaScript or have been specially programmed, an individual surcharge is added to the price of the corresponding price range (complexity surcharge). The WACA Advisory Board therefore reserves the right to deviate from the price range mentioned above in the respective quotation. The certification price is determined by the individual quotation. 

Following the initial consultation, an order is placed and a certification contract and logo usage contract are signed. Subsequently, an independent auditor is appointed. This is done in a fixed order and with defined exclusion criteria. The auditor must not have any connection to the submitted website nor to the company or organisation. The appointed auditor then determines the test sample for the website, which the Customer submitted by themselves. Moreover, the auditor determines a random sample. This constitutes approximately 10% of the test sample and remains unknown to the Customer. The test sample will be sent to the Customer within 1 week following placement of the order.

WACA-Badge, brand logo Web Accessibility Certificate Austria, WCAG certified, certification body TÜV Austria

General WACA-Label

Audit process

First, a self-evaluation is carried out by the person submitting the data via the online submission portal. For each WCAG criterion, you have the opportunity to argue your position on whether and how your website meets this criterion or not. To do so, you have a total of 1 month. Subsequently, the independent auditor will carry out the actual audit within one month. Any shortcomings and errors or deviations from the WCAG success criteria will be recorded. The audit report is then sent to the person who submitted the website. It indicates any corrections that may be necessary. In addition, an outlook is given as to which certificate level (Gold, Silver or Bronze) can be achieved. 

Cancellation of the audit:

In case the first three pages of the test sample contain more than 50% errors or were not correctly specified in the submission portal, the audit is cancelled. In this case, the costs for the initial consultation (€ 350) will be charged and the certification contract ends automatically. 

Revision phase

If no or only small deviations from the WCAG success criteria are detected, the Customer immediately receives the Gold certificate. No post-audit is necessary in this case.

In case of deviations from the success criteria:

If the Silver or Bronze level is attained at the first audit, the Customer may accept this level straight away. However, if the Customer wishes to achieve a higher level, a post-audit can be requested. This is included in the certification price. The Customer is given a certain period of time to correct the errors found during the first audit and then a post-audit takes place. If none of the three levels is reached in the first audit, a post-audit must be carried out, otherwise the certification contract expires after the respective deadline. In this case, no certificate can be awarded.

Deadlines:

  • Small: 1 month
  • Medium: 2 months
  • Large or X-Large: 3 months 

Issuance of the WACA Gold, Silver or Bronze certificate

  • Certified by TÜV Austria
  • Audit report available after each audit
  • Access to a visually designed, dynamic WACA label as JavaScript snippet. This label indicates the current status of the certificate and should be placed on your website. A reporting system and the audit report are linked to it.
  • Special WACA label in print and web format for your use
  • Certified websites are listed on this website under “Certified websites” 
  • Valid for 3 years with short review audits being carried out annually. After 3 years, re-certification is required
  • Larger changes or amendments to the website must be reported 

Monitoring phase

Criteria and website components exempted from the audit are clearly communicated in the audit report and are also noted in the database. After the certificate has been issued, the accessibility status of the website must be maintained.

Reporting by the website operator:

Major changes to a certified website and/or the implementation of new technical tools must be reported to WACA by the website operator and will be reviewed by an auditor for accessibility. It is the responsibility of the WACA Advisory Board to add any such changes and updates to the criteria excluded from the audit, to exclude them from the certification criteria or to demand the correction of potential deficiencies. However, if changes and modifications to a certified website become prevalent and do not meet the WCAG criteria, an existing certificate may be revoked or a new audit must be carried out.

Reporting by third parties:

In case a user objects to or stumbles across non-conformities with accessibility standards on a certified website, they can report the issue to the certification body via the respective form located next to the WACA label on the certified website. The website operator will be notified and asked to restore the accessibility of the website. 

Re-certification phase after 3 years

At the end of the certification period, re-certification is required. This process is similar to the initial submission process. Following a successful audit, you can continue to use the WACA certificate on your website or aim for a higher level. Submissions for re-certification must be sent to WACA at least 2 months prior to the expiry of the certificate. We will notify you in good time.

Costs of re-certification:

  • The price depends on the necessary test scope for a representative sample (scope of test sample) according to the initial submission, see price scale above. However, the re-certification process will be carried out by the new certification body TÜV Austria, meaning that you will receive the TÜV label on your website in addition to the WACA label.
  • If your website has not undergone any fundamental changes since the last audit, a discount of 35% can be offered. The same test sample can be used for the re-certification audit as was used for the initial audit. Self-evaluation by the website operator is also not applicable in this case. Once the existing test sample has been reviewed, the audit can take place immediately. However, the auditor will select a new random sample and include it in the test scope.
  • In the event that your website has changed fundamentally since the last audit, new designs have been adopted or additional technical tools have been integrated, a new submission including self-evaluation must be carried out. See price scale above. The WACA Advisory Board reserves the right to make individual quotations in this regard.

Direkt zum Inhalt

Das Zertifikat für Barrierefreiheit im Web

Warum WACA, warum ein Zertifikat für barrierefreie Websites?

Ein barrierefreies Web ist Zeichen und Ausdruck einer offenen, demokratischen und integrativen Gesellschaft. WACA ist das erste unabhängige Zertifikat um Barrierefreiheit nach den internationalen W3C-Richtlinien (WCAG 2.0 oder 2.1 – AA) nach außen erkennbar zu machen. Dieses Qualitätssiegel gewährleistet die Zugänglichkeit für alle Menschen auf der geprüften Website. Damit werden Bemühungen von Unternehmen und Organisationen hinsichtlich Barrierefreiheit im Web ausgezeichnet und gesetzliche Bestimmungen erfüllt. Unabhängige und geprüfte Fachkräfte werden vom WACA-Beirat bestimmt und übernehmen den Audit. Ein interdisziplinärer Beirat aus unterschiedlichsten Kernkompetenzen überwacht den Zertifizierungsprozess und ist verantwortlich für die Weiterentwicklung des Zertifikats sowie die Ernennung von AuditorInnen.

Wie kommen Sie zu einem WACA-Zertifikat?

Der gesamte Zertifizierungsprozess ist in verschiedene Phasen wie folgt eingeteilt:

Informationsphase

Wenn Sie noch nicht genau wissen, ob Ihre Website die grundlegenden Kriterien der Barrierefreiheit laut WCAG erfüllt, können wir auf ein Beraternetzwerk verweisen, dass sich laufend mit dem Thema befasst und qualifizierte Fachkräfte im Bereich Web Accessibility aufweisen kann. Grundsätzlich empfehlen wir eine Fachberatung im Vorfeld der Zertifizierung bzw. einen groben Erstcheck, damit Fehler bei der Selbsteinreichung über das Online-Portal vermieden werden. Wir wollen auch damit vermeiden, dass mangels Barrierefreiheit Ihrer Website die Zertifizierung abgelehnt wird und ein weiteres Mal eingereicht werden muss.

Für die Beratung im Vorfeld der Einreichung können wir Mitglieder unseres Beirats weiterempfehlen:

  • WIENFLUSS information.design.solutions
  • doloops GmbH
  • gugler* brand & digital 
  • Leitwolf - Agentur von Wolfgang Leitner
  • Kompetenznetzwerk Informationstechnologie zur Förderung der Integration von Menschen mit Behinderungen (KI-I)
  • myAbility Social Enterprise GmbH
  • Hilfsgemeinschaft der Blinden und Sehschwachen Österreichs

Hier finden Sie einen Pool an spezialisierten Digital-Agenturen und Fachkräften unter den Mitgliedern im Verein Accessible Media.
Wir empfehlen auch die Certified WebAccessibility Experts der WKO der Sparte UBIT.
  
 

Antragsphase

Bevor Sie einreichen, können Sie eine Erstberatung telefonisch in Anspruch nehmen. Diese Beratung ist im Zertifikatspreis inkludiert. Dabei wird gemeinsam mit Ihnen bzw. Ihrer Digital-Agentur die zu prüfende Website analysiert, das Online-Einreichportal sowie das formalisierte Prüfprotokoll mit Prüfmethodik besprochen. Im Zuge dieser Beratung wird auch der Prüfumfang (Testsample) definiert und der Preis für die Zertifizierung fixiert. Der Prüfumfang Ihrer Website und damit auch der Zertifikatspreis ist abhängig von der Größe, Umfang und Komplexität ihrer Website. Diese Sample-Auswahl richtet sich nach den Vorgaben des W3C und stellt einen repräsentativen Querschnitt Ihrer Website dar. Ein eventuell notwendiger Nach-Audit ist im Zertifikatspreis enthalten.

Preisstaffelung für WCAG 2.1 - AA (beziehend auf das Test- und Zufallssample) inklusive Erstberatung und jährliche Überprüfungsaudits:

  • Small (bis zu 5 auditierende Seiten): 1.400.-
  • Medium (6 bis 10 zu auditierende Seiten): 3.000.-
  • Large (11 bis 20 zu auditierende Seiten): 6.000.-
  • X-Large (ab 21 zu auditierende Seiten): eigenes Angebot

Anmerkung: Komplexitätszuschlag 
Bei nicht üblichen CMS bzw. Websites, die großteils mit JavaScript aufgebaut sind oder eigens programmiert wurden, wird ein individueller Aufschlag zum Preis der entsprechenden Preisstaffel dazu gerechnet (Komplexitätszuschlag). Der WACA-Beirat behält sich das Recht vor, beim jeweiligen Angebot von der Preisstaffel abzuweichen. Ausschlaggebend für den Preis der Zertifizierung ist das individuelle Angebot. 

Nach der Erstberatung erfolgt die Beauftragung und ein Zertifizierungsvertrag sowie Logonutzungsvertrag werden unterzeichnet. Anschließend wird eine unabhängige AuditorIn bestimmt. Es gibt eine festgelegte Reihenfolge und definierte Ausschlusskriterien. Die AuditorIn darf in keiner Verbindung mit der eingereichten Website und dem Unternehmen bzw. der Organisation stehen. Diese AuditorIn fixiert das Testsample für die Selbsteinreichung des Auftraggebers und definiert noch ein weiteres Zufallssample. Dieses beträgt ca. 10% des Testsamples und ist dem Auftraggeber nicht bekannt. Das Testsample wird innerhalb 1 Woche nach Beauftragung an den Auftraggeber übermittelt.

WACA-Label für den Niederösterreichischen Landtag

Beispiel für ein vergebenes WACA-Label in Silber

Auditprozess

Zuerst erfolgt die Selbstevaluierung durch Eingabe der Daten in das Online-Einreichportal durch den Einreicher. Sie können bei den jeweiligen WCAG-Kriterien Ihre Sichtweise zu der Erfüllung dieses Kriteriums argumentieren. Dafür haben Sie insgesamt 1 Monat Zeit. Danach erfolgt der eigentliche Audit innerhalb eines Monats durch die AuditorIn. Mängel und Fehler bzw. Abweichungen zu den WCAG-Erfolgskriterien werden protokolliert. Der Auditreport wird anschließend dem Einreicher übermittelt. Darin wird auf eventuell notwendige Mängelbehebung hingewiesen. Außerdem wird ein Ausblick gegeben, welche Zertifikatsstufe (Gold, Silber oder Bronze) erreicht werden kann.

Abbruch der Auditierung: 

Der Audit wird abgebrochen, wenn im Testsample innerhalb der ersten 3 zu prüfenden Seiten mehr als 50 % Fehler auftreten bzw. im Einreichportal nicht korrekt angegeben wurden. Es sind in diesem Fall die Erstberatungskosten von 350,- zu zahlen. Der Zertifizierungsvertrag läuft in diesem Fall aus. 

   

Überarbeitungsphase

Werden keine oder nur minimale Abweichungen zu den WCAG-Erfolgskriterien entdeckt, erhält der Auftraggeber sofort das Zertifikat der Stufe Gold. Es ist kein Nach-Audit notwendig. 

Bei Abweichungen zu den Erfolgskriterien:

Wird mit dem ersten Audit bereits die Stufe Silber oder Bronze erreicht, kann der Auftraggeber dieses sofort annehmen. Falls eine höhere Stufe angestrebt wird, kann ein Nach-Audit beantragt werden. Dieser ist im Zertifikatspreis inkludiert. Der Einreicher hat nun eine gewisse Frist Zeit diese Abweichungen zu korrigieren. Falls im ersten Audit keine Stufe erreicht wird, muss ein Nach-Audit beantragt werden, sonst läuft nach der jeweiligen Frist der Zertifizierungsvertrag aus. Es kann in diesem Fall kein Zertifikat vergeben werden.

Fristen:

  • bei Small 1 Monat
  • bei Medium 2 Monate
  • bei Large bzw. X-Large 3 Monate

Zertifikatsaustellung für WACA Gold, Silber oder Bronze

  • Zertifizierungsurkunde vom TÜV Austria
  • Prüfbericht nach jedem Audit
  • Zugang zu visuell gestalteten, dynamischen WACA-Label als JavaScript Snippet. Dieses gibt den aktuellen Status des Zertifikats an und soll auf Ihrer Website angebracht werden. Daran geknüpft sind ein Meldesystem und der Auditbericht.
  • Spezielles WACA-Label in Druck- und Webformat zu ihrer Verwendung
  • Listung auf dieser Website unter zertifizierte Websites
  • Zertifikat ist ab diesem Zeitpunkt 3 Jahre lang gültig, jährlich werden kurze Überprüfungsaudits durchgeführt, danach ist eine Re-Zertifizierung erforderlich.
  • Größere Änderungen bzw. Erweiterungen der Website müssen gemeldet werden.

Überwachung des Zertifikats

Ausnahmekriterien des Audits werden im Prüfprotokoll klar kommuniziert und sind in der Datenbank vermerkt. Nach der Zertifikatsvergabe muss der Status der Barrierefreiheit der Website aufrechterhalten bleiben.

Meldung des Website-Besitzer:

Größere Änderungen auf der zertifizierten Webseite und/oder Implementierung von neuen technischen Tools müssen gemeldet werden und werden von einer AuditorIn auf Barrierefreiheit überprüft. Es obliegt dem WACA-Beirat diese Änderungen der Website zu den Ausschlusskriterien des Auditprozesses hinzuzufügen und von den Zertifizierungskriterien auszuschließen oder die Behebung dieser Mängel zu fordern. Falls Änderungen aber überhandnehmen und diese nicht den WCAG-Kriterien entsprechen, kann das Zertifikat aberkannt werden bzw. muss ein neuerliches Audit beantragt werden.

Meldung von außen:

Beanstandungen und Abweichungen der Barrierefreiheit können mit Hilfe eines Formulars beim WACA-Label auf der zertifizierten Website gemeldet werden. Der Websitebetreiber wird benachrichtigt und aufgefordert die Barrierefreiheit wiederherzustellen.
    

Re-Zertifizierung nach 3 Jahren

Nach Ablauf der Zertifizierungsdauer ist eine Re-Zertifizierung analog den Prozessen der Ersteinreichung erforderlich. Damit kann nach einem erfolgreichen Audit das WACA-Zertifikat weiter auf Ihrer Webseite verwendet bzw. eine höhere Stufe angestrebt werden. Die Einreichung zur Re-Zertifizierung muss 2 Monate vor Ablauf des Zertifikats bei WACA beantragt werden. Sie werden von uns rechtzeitig verständigt.

Kosten der Re-Zertifizierung:

  • Der Preis richtet sich weiterhin nach dem notwendigen Prüfumfang für eine repräsentative Stichprobe (Anzahl des Testsample) analog der Ersteinreichung, siehe Preisstaffel oben. Der Re-Zertifizierungsprozess läuft aber schon über die neue Zertifizierungsstelle TÜV Austria und Sie erhalten auch hier zusätzlich zum WACA Label das TÜV Label auf Ihrer Webseite.
  • Falls sich Ihre Webseite seit dem letzten Audit nicht grundsätzlich geändert hat, kann ein Rabatt von 35% gegeben werden. Es kann das gleiche Testsample wie bei der Ersteinreichung verwendet werden. Die Selbstevaluierung durch den Einreicher entfällt hier ebenfalls. Nach Kontrolle des bestehenden Testsamples kann sofort der Audit erfolgen. Das Zufallssample wird aber vom Auditor neu ausgewählt und in den Prüfumfang aufgenommen.
  • Falls sich Ihre Webseite seit dem letzten Audit aber von Grund auf geändert hat, ein neues Design verwendet wird oder weitere technische Tools integriert wurden, muss eine neue Einreichung inkl. Selbstevaluierung durchgeführt werden, Preisstaffel siehe oben. Der WACA-Beirat behält sich das Recht vor, hier individuell zu entscheiden.