Skip to main content

Web Accessibility Certificate

Leading through accessibility

People holding puzzle pieces together

A lack of diversity is a lack of equality. This is why there needs to be a certificate to recognise accessible websites that take the future as well as equal access for all into account.

WACA is the first quality seal to make web accessibility according to the international W3C guidelines (WCAG) visible to the outside world. This official certificate from the WACA initiative and the independent certification body TÜV Austria intended for websites in German and English throughout Europe and is issued based on the European Standard EN 301 549. This is to ensure that all people can access the certified websites. The certificate recognises web accessibility efforts and guarantees compliance with legal requirements. 

Key facts about the WACA certificate:

Person wearing a shirt in front of a stack of papers with a pen
  • TÜV Austria serves as independent certification body
  • Certification strictly according to W3C guidelines WCAG 2.2 – AA and based on EN 301 549 (Accessibility requirements for ICT products and services)
  • Available in 3 levels: Gold – Silver - Bronze
  • Certified websites marked with label, valid for 3 years
  • Annual review audits
  • Re-certification necessary after 3 years
  • Graduation of prices depending on the complexity and size of the website

Your benefits:

Hot air balloons soaring against the sky
  • Unique selling proposition: the only quality seal of conformity in Austria and valid in Europe, USA and Canada
  • Transparency: independent certification body, certified and qualified auditors
  • Comparability: standardised audit procedure and publication of the audit report
  • Legal compliance: certificate guarantees that legal regulations are observed 
  • Economic effects: reaching a broader target group and making the website fit for the future
  • CSR: accessibility efforts become visible and media attention is achieved