Skip to main content

New certification body: TÜV Austria

To ensure that WACA and the established certification system for accessible websites have a solid foundation and to allow us to offer certifications internationally, we have switched our certification body from the Austrian Computer Society OCG to TÜV Austria. We would like to thank the OCG for the many years of good cooperation. With our new partner TÜV TRUST IT TÜV AUSTRIA GmbH, member of the TÜV AUSTRIA Group, the WACA certification will be updated to the new WCAG version 2.1. In addition, thanks to this international player and strong partner in the background, we can further expand and professionalise the WACA certificate.

The organisational aspects of the WACA certification are now handled by the Austrian Association in Support of the Blind and Visually Impaired. It is the processing and accounting body for the certification. The Association is the main contact for the entire certification process and is also the main sponsor of the WACA initiative. 

The WACA certificate was developed by an interdisciplinary advisory board of 10 organisations with different core competences. The websites are checked for accessibility by independent competent experts. This guarantees the high quality of the WACA certification. The WACA Advisory Board as well as all acting persons in the Advisory Board and in the team of auditors remain unchanged.

The WACA brand itself will not change. The audit methodology remains unchanged and will be strictly in accordance with the international WCAG guidelines. In addition to the WACA seal of quality, certified websites will also receive the TÜV seal "Accessible Website". The validity period of the certification will be extended to 3 years and for quality assurance purposes short annual review audits are carried out. These are included in the certification price. It should be noted that as the certification body changes, so do our prices. Prices will be increased due to the additional audits that will be necessary. In return, however, our clients will receive a 50% longer certification period. 

New price scale for WCAG 2.1 – AA from 01.05.2020 (relating to the test and random sample) including initial consultation and annual review audits:

  • Small (up to 5 audited sites): € 1,400
  • Medium (6 to 10 audited sites): € 3,000
  • Large (11 to 20 audited sites): € 6,000
  • X-Large (from 21 audited sites): individual quotation

Note: An additional charge for complex websites is possible 
In case of non-standard CMS or websites that are largely built up with JavaScript or have been specially programmed, an individual surcharge is added to the price of the corresponding price range (complexity surcharge). The WACA Advisory Board therefore reserves the right to deviate from the price range mentioned above in the respective quotation. The price for certification is determined by the individual quotation. 

We are looking forward to cooperating with TÜV Austria and to many new certifications – let’s increase inclusion and unrestricted participation on the internet!